College Honors Record Number of Dean’s Challenge Award Winners

by Rashad Mulla

College Honors Record Number of Dean’s Challenge Award Winners

The College of Humanities and Social Sciences recognizes 14 students who rose to the challenge of getting the most out of their time as George Mason University students.

The 14 students are recipients of the Dean’s Challenge Award for 2012-2013. The Dean's Challenge  recognizes exceptional students for their work in and out of the classroom.



2012-2013 Dean’s Challenge Award Winners

  • Leah Adams, PhD - Psychology
  • Laura Boyette, MA - Global Affairs
  • Amy Busch, MA - Communication
  • Kathleen Danskin, MS - Biodefense
  • Kristen Randolph, MA - Psychology
  • Cody Telep, PhD - Criminology, Law and Society
  • Emily Arnold, BA - English
  • Jessica Campbell, BA - History
  • Amina Derbi, BA - Global Affairs
  • Timothy Higashi, BS - Public Administration
  • Nathan Ludwig, BA - Global Affairs
  • Emily Mann, BA - Anthropology
  • Rochelle Sceats, BS - Psychology
  • Anastasia Uzlevskaya, BS - Criminology, Law and Society

Jamie Cooper, associate dean of undergraduate academic affairs in the college, praised the student award winners.

“The Dean's Challenge Award was created to recognize students in the college who have gone above and beyond the requirements for their degree, excelling in the classroom and establishing themselves as leaders at Mason and in the community,” Cooper said. “These students have also shown that they can take what they are learning in the classroom and make significant contributions to their field while serving as outstanding representatives of Mason's education values.”

Jack Censer, dean of the college, met the students at a mid-semester lunch at the Mason Inn. He acknowledged the prestigious nature of the award and the outstanding qualities of this year’s winners.

“The Dean's Challenge Award is not unlike a climb up Mount Everest for our students,” he said. “The climb is difficult, but the experience is rewarding.”

He added, “All of our winners exemplify dedication, love of learning and of course, a willingness to take on large intellectual challenges.”

The Dean’s Challenge Award was established in 2007. Winners of the award receive a financial stipend to help with their educational expenses. The are honored at the annual Celebration of Scholarship.