College celebrates its Outstanding Achievement Award Winners

by Anne Reynolds

On Thursday, October 31, George Mason University hosted its 22nd annual Outstanding Achievement Awards ceremony honoring faculty and staff. The awards, which recognize the dedication, hard work, and achievements of members of the Mason community, as well as their support of Mason’s values and mission, are coordinated by Mason HR and Payroll and are additionally sponsored by Distance Education, Environmental Health and Safety, Staff Senate, Sustainability, and University Life.

Mason President Anne Holton, Provost S. David Wu, and Vice President for Finance and Administration Carol Kissal presided over the event. Among the 23 honorees named were several staff and faculty members of the college.


Keith Renshaw, professor and chair, Department of Psychology, received the David W. Rossell Quill Award, given to an individual whose work reflects the leadership, teaching, and dedication of David W. Rossell, who retired from George Mason University in 2007 with over 20 years of loyal service.

Anne Holton with Susan Ridley

Susan Ridley, office manager in the Department of Psychology, was recognized with an Exceptional Support Award. These awards honor the employees who “are the backbone of Mason,” whose knowledge, assistance, and excellent customer service help their departments and the university to grow and prosper.

Wendi Manuel-Scott and Anne Holton

Wendi Manuel-Scott, associate professor in the School for Integrative Studies, Department of History and Art History, and the African and African American Studies and Women and Gender Studies programs, received Margaret C. Howell Award. This award recognizes a faculty or staff member whose work with the Mason community promotes respect, diversity, and individual dignity, reflecting the character of the late Margaret C. Howell, whose 20-year career at Mason began as a secretary for minority student affairs and concluded with her retirement as an Equal Opportunity/Title IX Coordinator and Diversity Specialist.

Heidi Lawrence and Anne Holton

Heidi Lawrence, assistant professor in the Department of English, was recognized with the Mason Faculty Alumni Award, which honors the contributions of the particular group of Patriot employees who share the special perspective of former students and current faculty members.

We are grateful for the contributions of all of our faculty and staff, and appreciate the university’s recognition of these members of the CHSS community.